Accomodations View and Book
Click on the desired image for a 360° view. Then move your mouse with the mouse button pressed down over it to change the perspective.
With its variety of styles the imposing catholic church reveals an interesting architectural history. The first church to be erected on this site was mentioned in 1071 when the parish was established. It was dedicated to St. Maurice, and is known to locals as «de Moritz». Not far from the catholic church, just across the beautifully laid-out cemetery, is the Evangelical (protestant) Church.
The enclosed building known as the «Schloss» (castle) to the east of the Postplatz has always occupied a unique position in Appenzell’s village architecture. It has been privately owned since 1708 by the Sutter family, who still reside there, and is not open to the public. Right next to the castle is the Convent of Mary the Angel, which was built by the Capuchin religious order in the early 1680s.
The Salesis House on the Postplatz, the only free-standing stone building apart from the castle, is a tribute to the affluence of the village. The solid, three-storey square building of rendered quarried stone with a wide pitched roof dates back to the flourishing economy of the late 16th century.
Another outstanding building is the Konkordia House on Engelgasse, a patrician house dating from the 17th century with a steep gabled roof. A richly decorated series of panels covers the entire southern façade and the paintings under the eaves represent the eight ages of man. This energetic work of art in muted colours was created by August Schmid (1930).
Hampi Fässler House
The Hampi Fässler House on Kaustrasse originally marked the limits of the old village centre. The half-timbered building is ornamented with baroque window frames and decorative window shutters in the traditional style, painted by Adalbert Fässler.
The historic village square or Landsgemeindeplatz is the scene each year of the local parliament or Landsgemeinde. All cantonal elections and parliamentary business are publicly debated here and voting is by a public show of hands.
«Tafeen», Tourist Information
The Heiligkreuzkapelle in the main street was rebuilt after the village was devastated by fire in 1560. The stained glass windows depicting the five sorrowful mysteries of the rosary were designed by Ferdinand Gehr in 1964.
The distinctive signs (known as Tafeen), which are hung mainly in the centre of the village, are a visual feast. «Tafeen» (which comes from the word for tavern) can be found outside many shops as well as inns and restaurants.
The Löwen pharmacy with beautiful paintings on its decorated facade is an architectural gem. Johannes Hugentobler painted medicinal herbs on the round-arched panels covering the shutters, thus linking the decoration to the purpose of the pharmacy.
The town hall
The main street, or Hauptgasse, with its quaint, colourful houses is always a unique attraction for our visitors. The impressive town hall (Rathaus) with its façade painted by August Schmid from Diessenhofen (1928) and the adjoining «Buherre Hanisefs» form a fitting close to our tour.